Top 8 Dorm Room Essentials

By now, I’m sure you’ve read or watched at least a hundred “College Packing List” or “What to Bring to College” posts. At least that’s what I was doing last year, while trying to get my roommates to answer my texts about matching décor and bing watching Grey’s Anatomy on Netflix. So I decided I would share my top 8 essentials. Some of these things were absolute lifesavers and others just made 208 Glass Hall feel a little more home like.

dorm1

Water Filter

Depending on where you go to school, you will probably/definitely need a water filter. Its actually a much cheaper alternative to buying a pack of water bottles weekly. Plus you get to buy a bunch of cute tumblers and water bottles.

Water Bottle

Whether you have a water filter or not, the best thing you can do throughout your freshman year is to drink water. Yes it sounds crazy but drinking water has so many health benefits not to mention its such an easy thing to do. You probably already have one or more packed in with your dorm accessories already

Command Strips

If your planning on putting basically anything on the boring typical off white walls, you need Command Strips. My favorite part about command strips is that they will hold up basically anything you want to stick up on your wall. Some universities also allow putty to be put up on the wall but from my experience last year (picture fell off the wall onto my dresser in the middle of the night), Command Strips and/or Command Hooks are the way to go.

Clipboard

Honestly, I’m not the kind of person who can study in the library. I tried multiple times throughout the year whether it was sitting on a couch, at a cubicle, or in my own study room, I just couldn’t do it. I would sit at my desk and study. When I got bored of my desk and looking at Orange High School, I moved to my bed and used a clipboard to take notes and study.

Tote bag

You never know when you are going to have a job interview, class presentation, or shopping trip with friends. In most cases, a backpack isn’t as professional as we all hoped it would be. Although if you go to a big campus school, its definitely easier to carry a backpack from class to class. But its always good to have a trusty and cute tote for meetings, conferences, and whatever else comes to the way. Nordstrom has some absolutely adorable totes with a wide variety of price ranges.

Planner

Based off my last post, you could tell I’m slightly obsessed with planners and agendas. I’m currently using the 18 month Erin Condren Life Planner and I absolutely love it! More on the EC Life Planner Later

Duster

Chances are, you and your roommate(s) wont be cleaning your room everyday. My roommates and I tried to clean the room (aka the bathroom) fully once every two weeks. We would take the trash out constantly, meaning two or three times a day, but completely forgot to dust the place. At the end of the year, my biggest regret was not buying a duster, even if you use it once a month you wont regret it at the end of the year.

Keurig 

I drink more coffee than a Gilmore. I need at least one cup in the morning to even open my eyes. I even got my roommate, who hated coffee, drinking it by the end of the year. Having a Keurig in our room allowed me to sleep in a little later and make the perfect hot chocolate on cold nights (Yes, that happens in California). Note: Bed Bath and Beyond, Macy’s, & Staples usually have good deals or coupons for a  Keurig K10 which is the cheapest and smallest version.

What are your favorite/must need dorm room essentials???

Love, Saba

3 thoughts on “Top 8 Dorm Room Essentials

  1. Emma says:

    A duster is actually a brilliant idea! I could have used one of those last year, I just might have to get one… because I definitely used my friend’s vacuum to try and dust the room at one point 🙂

    ~Emma
    seacoasttothesouth.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

